FORT ST.  JOHN – The B.C. government has provided $262,548 to the region in recognition of its commitment to support healthier, more sustainable communities.

Fort St. John – $99,106
Dawson Creek – $98,398
Chetwynd – $32,306
Taylor – $19,289
Hudson’s Hope – $8,202
Peace River Regional District – $5,247

“To reduce the impacts of greenhouse gas emissions, we need to work together. Our local governments’ commitment to practising sustainable living to lowering emissions contributes to B.C.’s global recognition as a model for smart climate policy,” Peace River South MLA Mike Bernier said. “This funding will help our local governments offset their carbon tax so they can invest back into our communities.”

“Our government is committed to combating climate change in our communities,” Peace River North MLA Pat Pimm said. “This program is one way that our government can help local governments reduce the effects of greenhouse gas emissions here in our region.”

The Climate Action Revenue Incentive Program provides conditional grants to communities that have signed the Climate Action Charter and supports their efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Communities that report publicly on their progress toward meeting their climate action goals are eligible to receive a grant equivalent to 100 per cent of the carbon tax they pay directly.

In March 2015, $6.4 million was provided to B.C. communities.

Since 2008, the B.C. government has provided more than $25 million through the Climate Action Revenue Incentive Program. Currently, 96 per cent of communities in B.C. have signed the Climate Action Charter.

To learn about the Climate Action Revenue Incentive Program, please visit